County Clerk

Reference Number: 

The county clerk, formerly the county court clerk, was a statutory official for many decades prior to becoming a constitutional office in the 1978 amendments to the Tennessee Constitution. The county clerk is elected to a four-year term in the August general election in the same even-numbered year that the governor is elected. T.C.A. § 18-6-101.