Commission for the Poor

Reference Number: 

The Commission for the Poor is a mandatory committee of three members appointed by the county commission. In the selection, the county legislative body shall, at its October session, choose at the beginning one (1) commissioner to hold for the term of one (1) year, another for the term of two (2) years, and a third for a term of three (3) years, and annually thereafter for three (3) years each, and to hold until the successor of each is selected and qualified. Should the court omit to make the appointment at that session, it may be done at any subsequent session. T.C.A. § 71-5-2201 et seq.