Assessor of Property

Reference Number: 

The assessor of property was a statutory office for many decades before it became a constitutional office following the 1978 amendments to the Tennessee Constitution. The assessor of property is elected to a four-year term in the August general election in even numbered years in which there is not an election for governor. T.C.A. § 67-1-502. This places the election of the assessor in years different from the other county constitutional officers who are popularly elected.